Board of Directors

The TSA Board is elected by members to represent geographic and professional diversity and a broad range of membership interests. Board memberships are for a term of four years.

TSA’s Nominations and Elections Committee consists of three Board members and two members-at-large. The Nominations and Elections Committee select a slate of candidates from among the names suggested, to be approved by the full board. Write-in names are also accepted on individual ballots.

The 2014 nomination period closed January 31, 2014. Ballots will be sent to the membership in May, 2014, and the New Board will be announced in September 2014, during the Membership Meeting at the Biennial Symposium.

We thank you, our Members, for your consideration, participation, and suggestions in our electoral process.

To view the current board, visit the TSA about page. Please direct questions about the process to Susan Brown,, chair of the Elections Committee.

  • Roxane Shaughnessy
    Roxane Shaughnessy
    Textile Museum of Canada
  • Elena Phipps
    Elena Phipps
    Past President
    Independent Scholar/Senior Research Scholar MMA
  • Patricia Hickman
    Patricia Hickman
    Past President
    Professor Emeritus, University of Hawaii/Artist
  • Maleyne Syracuse
    Maleyne Syracuse
    Independent Finance Professional 
  • Susan Brown
    Susan Brown
    Recording Secretary
    Associate Curator, Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum
  • Ann E. Svenson
    Ann E. Svenson
    Director of Internal Relations
    Textile Conservator
  • Michele A. Hardy
    Michele A. Hardy
    Director of External Relations
    Curator of Decorative Arts, the Nickle Arts Museum, University of Calgary
  • Susan Bean
    Susan Bean
    Director at Large
    Independent curator
  • Laura Camerlengo
    Laura Camerlengo
    Director at Large
    Exhibitions Assistant with the Philadelphia Museum of Art’s Costume and Textiles department
  • Gerry Craig
    Gerry Craig
    Director at Large
    Associate Professor/Department Head, Department of Art, Kansas State University
  • Sarah Fee
    Sarah Fee
    Director at Large
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada Associate Curator, Royal Ontario Museum
  • Eulanda A. Sanders
    Eulanda A. Sanders
    Director at Large
    Iowa State University, Ames Iowa, Department of Apparel...
  • Jill D’Alessandro
    Jill D’Alessandro
    Director at Large
    De Young Museum
  • Dominique Cardon
    Dominique Cardon
    International Advisor to the Board
    Research Scholar, CNRS, France