Mission Statement


The Textile Society of America, Inc. provides an international forum for the exchange and dissemination of information about textiles worldwide, from artistic, cultural, economic, historic, political, social, and technical perspectives.

Established in 1987, TSA is governed by a Board of Directors from museums and universities in North America. Its 700 members worldwide include museum curators, teachers, historians, artists, students, dealers, and collectors.

TSA organizes biennial symposia. The juried papers presented at each symposium are published in Proceedings. It also distributes a Newsletter, membership directory, and textile bibliography. These Publications are included in TSA membership.

Board of Directors

  • Roxane Shaughnessy
    Roxane Shaughnessy
    Textile Museum of Canada
  • Vita Plume
    Vita Plume
    Vice President
    Professor Emerita
  • Elena Phipps
    Elena Phipps
    Past President
    Independent Scholar/Senior Research Scholar MMA
  • Maleyne Syracuse
    Maleyne Syracuse
    Independent Finance Professional 
  • Susan Brown
    Susan Brown
    Recording Secretary
    Associate Curator, Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum
  • Catharine Ellis
    Catharine Ellis
    Director of Internal Relations
  • Wendy Weiss
    Wendy Weiss
    Director of External Relations
    Professor Emerita / Artist
  • Susan Bean
    Susan Bean
    Director at Large
    Independent curator
  • Laura Camerlengo
    Laura Camerlengo
    Director at Large
    Assistant Curator of Costume and Textile Arts, The Caroline and H. McCoy Jones Department of Textile Arts , Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco de Young Legion of Honor
  • Eulanda A. Sanders
    Eulanda A. Sanders
    Director at Large
    Iowa State University, Ames Iowa, Department of Apparel...
  • Rowland Ricketts
    Rowland Ricketts
    Director at Large
    Associate Professor
  • Jill D’Alessandro
    Jill D’Alessandro
    Director at Large
    De Young Museum
  • Dominique Cardon
    Dominique Cardon
    International Advisor to the Board
    Research Scholar, CNRS, France
  • Ruth Barnes
    Ruth Barnes
    Director at Large
  • Lauren Whitley
    Lauren Whitley
    Director at Large
    Curator, Dept. of Textile & Fashion Arts

Task Representatives

  • Brandy Gibbs-Riley
    Brandy Gibbs-Riley
    Social Media Marketing Coordinator
    Designer and Associate Professor
  • Jessica Smith
    Jessica Smith
    2016 Symposium Co-Chair
    Professor of Fibers, Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Susan Falls
    Susan Falls
    2016 Symposium Co-Chair
    Professor of Anthropology, Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Marlys McGuire, St. Paul, MN
    Marlys McGuire, St. Paul, MN
    Bibliography Editor
    Librarian, MaGrath Library, University of Minnesota


  • Tali Weinberg
    Tali Weinberg
    Executive Director, Textile Society of America
    PO Box 5617, Berkeley, CA 94705 Phone (510) 363-4541
  • Caroline Hayes Charuk
    Caroline Hayes Charuk
    Membership Associate
    Visual Artist